Hedgewitch

Hedgewitch

Blurb

First in a five-book series for readers of Nevermoor, The Worst Witch and The Dark Is Rising.

Cassie Morgan has run away. After seven years spent waiting for her mother to return, she flees her dreary boarding school and sets out to find her. But the world outside her school is full of hidden magic and children have been going missing.

With the help of a talking cat and a flying broom, Cassie escapes to the enchanted village of Hedgely. There she will begin her training in the practical skills of witchcraft with the Hedgewitch, who watches over the Hedge, the vast forest that marks the border between England and Faerie.


Our Review

I cannot praise Hedgewitch by Skye McKenna highly enough. The book itself is absolutely stunning, and that book map is just wow!

This is a book to delight children and adult readers alike. The writing style, along with the gorgeous illustrations, give it a real traditional feel in the style of Enid Blyton and the like.

Cassandra is a lonely child. Her life at school is permeated with bullies and unfriendly teachers.Her only escape is the fairy tale books she loves to read. 

"It didn't really matter if the stories were true or not: for a few stolen moments each day, between classes or buried under the covers at night with a torch, Cassie could escape the hockey team, maths and tapioca pudding to the wooded glades beneath the moonlight." 

For the past seven years Cassandra has been waiting in vain for her mother to come and get her like she promised. An incident one night causes her to run away and this is where he adventure begins. 

"If she was going to invisible, Cassie decided, she'd make the transformation complete, so she kept her head down in the classroom, sat on her own during meals and spent most of her free time in hiding. 

After a while, even the teachers stopped noticing her. Sometimes she wondered what would happen if she disappeared. How long would it take before the school realised? Would they even notice?"

With the help of a talking Cat Cassie begins her training as a witch under the critical eye of the Hedgewitch. 

Hedgewitch is a lovely little book and I devoured it. I want to read it and experience it all over again it is so good. 

 

 

Our Final Rating...

Our Rating

  • Currently 5/5

Read & Shared 24 Times.

I hope you enjoyed this book review, please consider sharing it with others.

Get In Touch

Please feel free to leave a comment to this book review below. Or even leave your own review if you like.
If you run a blog and/or have posted a review to this book, a Q & A or general author interview online you can always add a trackback to it here and following moderation we'll add a link to it below.

Loading...