10 Books Similar to My Sister's Keeper

10 Books Similar to My Sister's Keeper

Another in our series of 'Books Similar To' series

My Sister's Keeper

By Jodi Picoult

Preface: In all thirteen years of Anna's life, her parents have never given her a choice: she was born to be her sister Kate's bone marrow donor and she has always given Kate everything she needs.

But when Anna is told Kate needs a new kidney, she begins to question how much she should be prepared to do to save the older sibling she has always been defined by. So Anna makes a decision that will change their family forever - perhaps even fatally for the sister she loves.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: My Sister's Keeper
Open Book Thumbs Up
1

The Fault in Our Stars

By John Green

Preface: Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis.

But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Fault in Our Stars
Open Book
2

If I Stay

By Gayle Forman

Preface: Just listen,' Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.' I open my eyes wide now. I sit up as much as I can. And I listen.

'Stay,' he says.

Everybody has to make choices.

Some might break you.

For seventeen-year-old Mia, surrounded by a wonderful family, friends and a gorgeous boyfriend decisions might seem tough, but they're all about a future full of music and love, a future that's brimming with hope.

But life can change in an instant.

A cold February morning . . . a snowy road . . . and suddenly all of Mia's choices are gone. Except one.

As alone as she'll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all.

Haunting, heartrending and ultimately life-affirming, If I Stay will make you appreciate all that you have, all that you've lost - and all that might be.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: If I Stay
Open Book
3

The Lovely Bones

By Alice Sebold

Preface: My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.

In heaven, Susie Salmon can have whatever she wishes for - except what she most wants, which is to be back with the people she loved on earth. In the wake of her murder, Susie watches as her happy suburban family is torn apart by grief; as her friends grow up, fall in love, and do all the things she never had the chance to do herself. But as Susie will come to realize, even in death, life is not quite out of reach . . .

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Lovely Bones
Open Book
4

Thirteen Reasons Why

By Jay Asher

Preface: When Clay receives some cassette tapes in the mail he is curious to see what they contain.

The message recorded on the tapes is from his crush, Hannah Baker. The only problem is Hannah committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On the tapes Hannah explains that anyone who has received these tapes is in some way to blame for her death.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Thirteen Reasons Why
Open Book Thumbs Up
5

Before I Die

By Jenny Downham

Preface: Tessa has just a few months to live.

Fighting back against hospital visits, endless tests, drugs with excruciating side-effects, Tessa compiles a list. It's her To Do Before I Die list. And number one is sex.

Released from the constraints of 'normal' life, Tessa tastes new experiences to make her feel alive while her failing body struggles to keep up.

Tessa's feelings, her relationships with her father and brother, her estranged mother, her best friend, her new boyfriend, all are painfully crystallized in the precious weeks before Tessa's time finally runs out.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Before I Die
Open Book
6

Love Letters to the Dead

By Ava Dellaira

Preface: Sometimes the best letters are the ones that go unanswered

It begins as an assignment for English class: write a letter to a dead person - any dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain - he died young, and so did Laurel's sister May - so maybe he'll understand a bit of what Laurel is going through. Soon Laurel is writing letters to lots of dead people - Janis Joplin, Heath Ledger, River Phoenix, Amelia Earhart... it's like she can't stop. And she'd certainly never dream of handing them in to her teacher. She writes about what it's like going to a new high school, meeting new friends, falling in love for the first time - and how her family has shattered since May died.

But much as Laurel might find writing the letters cathartic, she can't keep real life out forever. The ghosts of her past won't be contained between the lines of a page, and she will have to come to terms with growing up, the agony of losing a beloved sister, and the realisation that only you can shape your destiny

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Love Letters to the Dead
Open Book
7

The Easy Way Out

By Steven Amsterdam

Preface: If you could help someone in pain, would you?

Evan is a nurse, a suicide assistant. His job is legal . . . just. He's the one at the hospital who hands out the last drink to those who ask for it.

Evan's friends don't know what he does during the day. His mother, Viv, doesn't know what he's up to at night. And his supervisor suspects there may be trouble ahead.

As he helps one patient after another die, Evan pushes against legality, his own morality and the best intentions of those closest to him, discovering that his own path will be neither quick nor painless.

He knows what he has to do.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Easy Way Out
Open Book Thumbs Up
8

Small Great Things

By Jodi Picoult

Preface: Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years' experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she's been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don't want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Small Great Things
Open Book Thumbs Up
9

Only Child

By rhiannon navin

Preface: Six year old Zach Taylor is hidden in a cloakroom with his teacher and classmates listening as a gunman roams the halls of his school. By the time he is done he will have claimed 19 victims.

Afterwards Zach's life will be changed forever. His dad will be absent at work more than ever and his mum will become obsessed with her crusade for justice. Will Zach be able to help them find a way through their grief or will the tragedy rip their family apart forever?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Only Child
Open Book Thumbs Up
10

Beartown

By Fredrik Backman

Preface: Beartown is a hockey town in the nestled in the forests of Sweden.

The inhabitants of Beartown are preparing for the game of the season, The Beartown Ice Hockey Club’s junior team is in the semi-final of the biggest youth tournament in the country. To the people of Beartown the love of hockey is as natural as breathing.

When news of a violent and sickening act breaks shortly before the final of the hockey match the citizen of Beartown will be divided. Whose word do they believe and what will it mean for the hopes of the town and several of the key friendships within it when people fall on different sides of the debate.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Beartown
Open Book Thumbs Up

Read & Shared 8029 Times.

I hope you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it with others.

Get In Touch

Please feel free to leave a comment to this article below.
If you run a blog and/or have posted an article which you think expands or improves on the subjects covered on this page, you can always add a trackback to it here and following moderation we'll add a link to it below.

Loading...