Books Similar to The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea

Books Similar to The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea

Don't chase fate. Let fate chase you.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a phenomenal book and left me with a massive book hangover. If you are looking to find your next great book this list is a great place to start.

The Bear and The Nightingale

By Katherine Arden

Preface: In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain,intended for his young daughter.

Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, wilful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Bear and The Nightingale
Open Book Thumbs Up

City Of Brass

By s a chakraborty

Preface: Nahri is a con artist and a thief with some unnusual skills. She can understand any language when she first hears it and she can recognise illness in others and she uses these skills to survive on the streets of Cairo.

One night she decides to perform a ceremony in her native language and in doing so she summons a creature she thought only existed in myths. This one action changes her life forever.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: City Of Brass
Open Book Thumbs Up

Thorn

By Intisar Khanani

Preface: Princess Alyrra has always longed to escape the confines of her royal life, but when her mother betroths her to a powerful prince in a distant kingdom, she has little hope for a better future.

Until Alyrra arrives at her new kingdom, where a mysterious sorceress robs her of both her identity and her role as princess--and Alyrra seizes on the opportunity to start a new life for herself as a goose girl.

But as Alyrra uncovers dangerous secrets about her new world, including a threat to the prince himself, she knows she can't remain silent forever. With the fate of the kingdom at stake, Alyrra is caught between two worlds, and ultimately must decide who she is and what she stands for.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Thorn
Open Book

Good Bones

By Margaret Atwood

Preface: Queen Gertrude gives Hamlet a piece of her mind.

An ugly sister and a wicked stepmother put in a good word for themselves.

A reincarnated bat explains how Bram Stoker got Dracula hopelessly wrong.

Bones and Murder is a bewitching cocktail of prose and poetry, fiction and fairytales, as well as some of Atwood's own illustrations. It's pure distilled Atwood: deliciously strong and bittersweet.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Good Bones
Open Book Thumbs Up

Once Upon a River

By Diane Setterfield

Preface: On the night of the Winter Solstice in an ancient inn on the Thames, the locals are telling stories when the door bursts open and a badly injured man comes in with the corpse of a little girl in his arms.

Many hours later, the dead girl returns to life.

Afterwards everyone has many questions. Was it a miracle or magic? Who is the little girl? And how did she end up in the river?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Once Upon a River
Open Book Thumbs Up

Sistersong

By Lucy Holland

Preface: King Cador’s children inherit a land abandoned by the Romans, torn by warring tribes. Riva can cure others, but can’t heal her own scars. Keyne battles to be seen as the king’s son, although born a daughter. And Sinne dreams of love, longing for adventure.

All three fear a life of confinement within the walls of the hold, their people’s last bastion of strength against the invading Saxons. However, change comes on the day ash falls from the sky – bringing Myrdhin, meddler and magician. The siblings discover the power that lies within them and the land. But fate also brings Tristan, a warrior whose secrets will tear them apart.

Riva, Keyne and Sinne become entangled in a web of treachery and heartbreak, and must fight to forge their own paths. It’s a story that will shape the destiny of Britain.

Sistersong is a powerfully moving story, perfect for readers who loved Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Sistersong
Open Book

The Hazel Wood

By melissa albert

Preface: Alice and her mother, Ella, have been plagued by bad luck for as long as Alice can remember. They have constantly moved about to try to outrun it but somehow it always catches up with them. That all changes with the death of Alice's reclusive author grandmother, finally Ella says it is safe to stay in one place.

Then one morning Ella is gone leaving nothing but a cryptic message telling Alice to Stay Away From The Hazel Wood. Alice knows she that her grandmother's book is the key to her mother's disappearance but hasn't read it herself so she has no choice but to turn to superfan Ellery Finch for help.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Hazel Wood
Open Book Thumbs Up

The Penelopiad

By Margaret Atwood

Preface: In 'The Odyssey' the story of Odysseus’ return home after twenty years is told. His story tells of heroic deeds and sex with goddesses. He is well known for his wit and his wily ways.

Penelope is ‘portrayed as the quintessential faithful wife’ but also as intelligent. She successfully tricks her suitors into waiting for her to make a decision on her new husband but doesn’t actually make one as she is waiting for her husband to return.

'The Odyssey' closes with the slaughter of her suitors and with her son killing the twelve maids who were sleeping with the twelve suitors.

'The Penelopiad' shows a different side to Penelope than the one who was portrayed in 'The Odyssey', it gives her a voice where she didn’t previously have one.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Penelopiad
Open Book Thumbs Up

City Of Brass

By s a chakraborty

Preface: Nahri is a con artist and a thief with some unnusual skills. She can understand any language when she first hears it and she can recognise illness in others and she uses these skills to survive on the streets of Cairo.

One night she decides to perform a ceremony in her native language and in doing so she summons a creature she thought only existed in myths. This one action changes her life forever.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: City Of Brass
Open Book Thumbs Up

Children of Blood and Bone

By tomi adeyemi

Preface: Orïsha was once a land full of magic and those who wielded it, known as the Maji. A land where ‘Burners’ had the ability to call forth and control flames, where ‘Tiders’ could manipulate the waves and ‘Reapers’ could summon the souls of those who had died.

For Zélie memories of those times are bitter sweet. On the one hand she can remember her mother whose face was like the sun and myths of the old Gods are woven into her childhood memories along with visions of her mother practicing the magic of a Reaper.

However, Zélie cannot think of her mother without thinking of the night the magic disappeared and they took her mother away.

Now there is a way to bring the magic back and Zélie may be the only one who can do it...but should she?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Children of Blood and Bone
Open Book Thumbs Up

Crown of Ice

By Vicki L Weavil

Preface: A fantastic retelling of Hans Christian Anderson's 'The Snow Queen'.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Crown of Ice
Open Book Thumbs Up

Sea: The Huntress Trilogy

By Sarah Driver

Preface: Fearless Mouse has looked after her younger brother, Sparrow since their Ma died when Sparrow was just a baby. Her destiny is to captain her family ship one day but until then she has to combat the dangerous Terrodyls and deal with worried over her missing father. In the mean time her whole Tribe is worrying about the ice encroaching on the seas and why the Terrodyl's are not nesting when they should be.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Sea: The Huntress Trilogy
Open Book Thumbs Up

Spinning Silver

By Naomi Novik

Preface: Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders, but her father’s too kind-hearted to collect his debts. They face poverty, until Miryem hardens her own heart and takes up his work in their village. Her success creates rumours she can turn silver into gold, which attract the fairy king of winter himself. He sets her an impossible challenge – and if she fails, she’ll die. Yet if she triumphs, it may mean a fate worse than death. And in her desperate efforts to succeed, Miryem unwittingly spins a web which draws in the unhappy daughter of a lord.

Irina’s father schemes to wed her to the tsar – he will pay any price to achieve this goal. However, the dashing tsar is not what he seems. And the secret he hides threatens to consume the lands of mortals and winter alike. Torn between deadly choices, Miryem and Irina embark on a quest that will take them to the limits of sacrifice, power and love.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Spinning Silver
Open Book Thumbs Up

Circe

By Madeline Miller

Preface: When I was born, the name for what I was did not exist.

Circe is the daughter of Helios, the sun god, and Perse, a beautiful naiad. Yet from the moment of her birth, she is an outsider in her father’s halls, where the laughter of gossiping gods resounds. Named after a hawk for her yellow eyes and strange voice, she is mocked by her siblings – until her beloved brother Aeëtes is born.

Yet after her sister Pasiphae marries King Midas of Crete, Aeëtes is whisked away to rule his own island. More isolated than ever, Circe, who has never been divine enough for her family, becomes increasingly drawn to mortals – and when she meets Glaucus, a handsome young fisherman, she is captivated. Yet gods mingle with humans, and meddle with fate, at their peril.

In Circe, Madeline Miller breathes life once more into the ancient world, with the story of an outcast who overcomes scorn and banishment to transform herself into a formidable witch. Unfolding on Circe’s wild, abundant island of Aiaia, where the hillsides are aromatic with herbs, this is a magical, intoxicating epic of family rivalry, power struggles, love and loss – and a celebration of female strength in a man’s world.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Circe
Open Book

The Absolute Book

By Elizabeth Knox

Preface: Taryn Cornick believes her sister Bea was deliberately run down and killed. She believes it so hard she allows a man called the Muleskinner to exact the justice Bea was denied. An eye for an eye.

Which is when Taryn's problems really begin.

Because the police suspect Taryn's involvement in the death.

Worse, others have their eyes on Taryn - those in a faraway place who know what Taryn's family have been carefully hiding in their vast library. The Absolute Book.

They want it - and they want Taryn to help find it.

For the lives of those in more than one world depend upon it . . .

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Absolute Book
Open Book Thumbs Up

The Deathless Girls

By Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Preface: On the eve of her divining, the day she'll discover her fate, seventeen-year-old Lil and her twin sister Kizzy are captured and enslaved by the cruel Boyar Valcar, taken far away from their beloved traveller community.

Forced to work in the harsh and unwelcoming castle kitchens, Lil is comforted when she meets Mira, a fellow slave who she feels drawn to in a way she doesn't understand. But she also learns about the Dragon, a mysterious and terrifying figure of myth and legend who takes girls as gifts.

They may not have had their divining day, but the girls will still discover their fate...

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Deathless Girls
Open Book Thumbs Up

Ariadne

By Jennifer Saint

Preface: As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace. The Minotaur - Minos's greatest shame and Ariadne's brother - demands blood every year.

When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods - drawing their attention can cost you everything.

In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?

ARIADNE gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths, and speaks to their strength in the face of angry, petulant Gods. Beautifully written and completely immersive, this is an exceptional debut novel.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Ariadne
Open Book

Skin of the Sea

By Natasha Bowen

Preface: A way to survive.

A way to serve.

A way to save.

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata—a mermaid—collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys back home.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard, Simi goes against an ancient decree and does the unthinkable—she saves his life. And punishment awaits those who dare to defy the gods.

To protect the other Mami Wata, Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends. But all is not as it seems. There's the boy she rescued, who knows more than he should. And something is shadowing Simi, something that would rather see her fail . . .

Danger lurks at every turn, and as Simi draws closer, she must brave vengeful gods, treacherous lands, and legendary creatures. Because if she fails, she risks not only the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Skin of the Sea
Open Book

Where The Wild Ladies Are

By Aoko Matsuda

Preface: In this witty and exuberant collection of feminist retellings of traditional Japanese folktales, humans live side by side with spirits who provide a variety of useful services—from truth-telling to babysitting, from protecting castles to fighting crime.

A busybody aunt who disapproves of hair removal; a pair of door-to-door saleswomen hawking portable lanterns; a cheerful lover who visits every night to take a luxurious bath; a silent house-caller who babysits and cleans while a single mother is out working.Where the Wild Ladies Are is populated by these and many other spirited women—who also happen to be ghosts. This is a realm in which jealousy, stubbornness, and other excessive “feminine” passions are not to be feared or suppressed, but rather cultivated; and, chances are, a man named Mr. Tei will notice your talents and recruit you, dead or alive (preferably dead), to join his mysterious company.

In this witty and exuberant collection of linked stories, Aoko Matsuda takes the rich, millenia-old tradition of Japanese folktales—shapeshifting wives and foxes, magical trees and wells—and wholly reinvents them, presenting a world in which humans are consoled, guided, challenged, and transformed by the only sometimes visible forces that surround them.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Where The Wild Ladies Are
Open Book

Read & Shared 1469 Times.

I hope you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it with others.

Get In Touch

Please feel free to leave a comment to this article below.
If you run a blog and/or have posted an article which you think expands or improves on the subjects covered on this page, you can always add a trackback to it here and following moderation we'll add a link to it below.

Loading...