Books Similar to The Passage

Books Similar to The Passage

The Passage by Justin Cronin has been made into a hit TV series for a reason. It is a very good book. If you agree with me then you will probably enjoy this list of similar books.

The Passage

By Justin Cronin

Preface: Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.

She is.

Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.

He's wrong.

FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.

It is.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Passage
Open Book
1

The Twelve

By Justin Cronin

Preface: THE TWELVE

Death-row prisoners with nightmare pasts and no future.

THE TWELVE

Until they were selected for a secret experiment.

THE TWELVE

To create something more than human.

THE TWELVE

Now they are the future and humanity's worst nightmare has begun.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Twelve
Open Book
2

Hunted

By G X Todd

Preface: Hunted is the thrilling sequel to Defender.

Everybody is hunting for the girl with a voice that doesn't belong to her. One group is headed by a man who wants to experiment with her to find the secrets. A man named Posy or 'Not Posy' depending on who you ask.

The second is headed by a young man born without a tongue. A man who wants only to complete the work of his sister Ruby.

Who will get to her first?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Hunted
Open Book Thumbs Up
3

Oryx and Crake

By Margaret Atwood

Preface: In the wake of a fever that decimated the earth’s population—killing women and children and making childbirth deadly for the mother and infant—the midwife must pick her way through the bones of the world she once knew to find her place in this dangerous new one. Gone are the pillars of civilization. All that remains is power—and the strong who possess it.

A few women like her survived, though they are scarce. Even fewer are safe from the clans of men, who, driven by fear, seek to control those remaining. To preserve her freedom, she dons men’s clothing, goes by false names, and avoids as many people as possible. But as the world continues to grapple with its terrible circumstances, she’ll discover a role greater than chasing a pale imitation of independence.

After all, if humanity is to be reborn, someone must be its guide.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Oryx and Crake
Open Book
4

The Road

By Cormac McCarthy

Preface: Cormac McCarthy's The Road is the story of a father and son walking alone through burned America, heading through the ravaged landscape to the coast.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Road
Open Book
5

The Historian

By Elizabeth Kostova

Preface: Late one night, exploring her father's library, a young woman finds an ancient book and a cache of yellowing letters addressed ominously to 'My dear and unfortunate successor'. Her discovery plunges her into a world she never dreamed of - a labyrinth where the secrets of her father's past and her mother's mysterious fate connect to an evil hidden in the depths of history.

In those few quiet moments, she unwittingly assumes a quest she will discover is her birthright - a hunt for the truth about Vlad the Impaler, the medieval ruler whose barbarous reign formed the basis of the Dracula myth. Deciphering obscure signs and hidden texts, reading codes worked into the fabric of medieval monastic traditions, and evading terrifying adversaries, one woman comes ever closer to the secret of her own past and a confrontation with the very definition of evil.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Historian
Open Book
6

Last One at the Party

By Bethany Clift

Preface: It's December 2023 and the world as we know it has ended.

The human race has been wiped out by a virus called 6DM ('Six Days Maximum' - the longest you've got before your body destroys itself).

But somehow, in London, one woman is still alive. A woman who has spent her whole life compromising what she wants, hiding how she feels and desperately trying to fit in. A woman who is entirely unprepared to face a future on her own.

Now, with only an abandoned golden retriever for company, she must travel through burning cities, avoiding rotting corpses and ravenous rats on a final journey to discover if she really is the last surviving person on earth.

And with no one else to live for, who will she become now that she's completely alone?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Last One at the Party
Open Book Thumbs Up
7

The Vanished

By Celia Rees

Preface: It all started out as playground tales - stories of plague graves, vanished children and hidden steps leading to a festering underworld. But when another child goes missing, Fraser wonders if there's some truth in the tales, as the dank tunnels running under the city are real enough.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Vanished
Open Book
8

Station Eleven

By Emily St John Mandel

Preface: What was lost in the collapse:

almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty.

One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America.

The world will never be the same again.

Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse.

But then her newly hopeful world is threatened.

If civilization was lost, what would you preserve?

And how far would you go to protect it?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Station Eleven
Open Book
9

Survivor Song

By Paul Tremblay

Preface: When it happens, it happens quickly.

New England is locked down, a strict curfew the only way to stem the wildfire spread of a rabies-like virus. The hospitals cannot cope with the infected, as the pathogen’s ferociously quick incubation period overwhelms the state. The veneer of civilisation is breaking down as people live in fear of everyone around them. Staying inside is the only way to keep safe. But paediatrician Ramola Sherman can’t stay safe, when her friend Natalie calls – her husband is dead, she’s eight months pregnant, and she’s been bitten. She is thrust into a desperate race to bring Natalie and her unborn child to a hospital, to try and save both their lives.

Their once familiar home has becoming a violent and strange place, twisted in to a barely recognisable landscape. What should have been a simple, joyous journey becomes a brutal trial.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Survivor Song
Open Book Thumbs Up
10

Wool

By Hugh Howey

Preface: In a ruined and hostile landscape, in a future few have been unlucky enough to survive, a community exists in a giant underground silo.

Inside, men and women live an enclosed life full of rules and regulations, of secrets and lies.

To live, you must follow the rules. But some don't. These are the dangerous ones; these are the people who dare to hope and dream, and who infect others with their optimism.

Their punishment is simple and deadly. They are allowed outside.

Jules is one of these people. She may well be the last.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Wool
Open Book
11

My Name is Monster

By Katie Hale

Preface: After the Sickness has killed off her parents, and the bombs have fallen on the last safe cities, Monster emerges from the arctic vault which has kept her alive. When she washes up on the coast of Scotland, everyone she knows is dead, and she believes she is alone in an empty world.

Monster begins the long walk south, scavenging and learning the contours of this familiar land made new. Slowly, piece by piece, she begins to rebuild a life. Until, one day, she finds a girl: feral, and ready to be taught all that Monster knows. Changing her own name to Mother, Monster names the child after herself. As young Monster learns from Mother, she also discovers her own desires, realising that she wants very different things to the woman who made, but did not create, her.

Inspired by Robinson Crusoe and Frankenstein, My Name is Monster is a novel about power, about the things that society leaves imprinted on us when the rules no longer apply, and about the strength and the danger of a mother’s love.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: My Name is Monster
Open Book Thumbs Up
12

BirdBox

By Josh Malerman

Preface: IF YOU’VE SEEN WHAT’S OUT THERE…IT’S ALREADY TOO LATE

Malorie raises the children the only way she can: indoors, with the doors locked, the curtains closed, and mattresses nailed over the windows.

The children sleep in the bedroom across the hall, but soon she will have to wake them and blindfold them.

Today they will risk everything. Today they will leave the house.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: BirdBox
Open Book

Read & Shared 1375 Times.

I hope you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it with others.

Get In Touch

Please feel free to leave a comment to this article below.
If you run a blog and/or have posted an article which you think expands or improves on the subjects covered on this page, you can always add a trackback to it here and following moderation we'll add a link to it below.

Loading...