What To Read if You Loved 'The Testaments'

What To Read if You Loved 'The Testaments'

'The Testaments' by Margaret Atwood has been eagerly awaited by fans for many years now. If you are at a bit of a loss as to what to read next then check out this list of books similar to 'The Testaments'

The Grace Year

By Kim Liggett

Preface: A must read for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and bound to be the next big dystopian novel.

In the isolated village where Tierney lives it is forbidden to talk of The Grace Year. The year when all sixteen year old girls are banished to release their magical hold over men.

This magic causes men and boys to be lustful and can drive wives insane with jealousy. It is considered highly dangerous and something to be eradicated.

A haunting book.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Grace Year
Open Book Thumbs Up

The Hunger Games

By Suzanne Collins

Preface: Set in a dark vision of the near future, a terrifying reality TV show is taking place. Twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live event called The Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed. When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her younger sister's place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Hunger Games
Open Book

Gather the Daughters

By Jennie Melamed

Preface: On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day take charge, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, a ritual offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps, to roam the island, sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. To be free.

At the end of one of such summer, one of the younger girls sees something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home with a truth that could bring their island world to its knees.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Gather the Daughters
Open Book

The Zoo

By Christopher Wilson

Preface: Meet Yuri Zipit.

A boy who's had a bang on the head in a collision with a Moscow milk truck.

He has a kind face, makes friends easily, and likes to help. People want to tell him their secrets.

Including the Great Leader himself, who takes a shine to Yuri when he employs him for his natural talents.

In his new job, Yuri will witness it all - betrayals, body doubles, buffoonery. Who knew that a man could be in five places at once? That someone could break your nose as a sign of friendship? That people could be disinvented . . .?

The Zoo is a brilliantly cutting satire told through the voice of one incredible boy.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Zoo
Open Book

It Can't Happen Here

By Sinclair Lewis

Preface: A vain, outlandish, anti-immigrant, fearmongering demagogue runs for President of the United States - and wins. Sinclair Lewis's chilling 1935 bestseller is the story of Buzz Windrip, 'Professional Common Man', who promises poor, angry voters that he will make America proud and prosperous once more, but takes the country down a far darker path. As the new regime slides into authoritarianism, newspaper editor Doremus Jessup can't believe it will last - but is he right? This cautionary tale of liberal complacency in the face of populist tyranny shows it really can happen here.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: It Can't Happen Here
Open Book

The Autumn of the Patriarch

By Gabriel García Márquez

Preface: As the citizens of an unnamed Caribbean nation creep through dusty corridors in search of their tyrannical leader, they cannot comprehend that the frail and withered man lying dead on the floor can be the self-styled General of the Universe. Their arrogant, manically violent leader, known for serving up traitors to dinner guests and drowning young children at sea, can surely not die the humiliating death of a mere mortal?

Tracing the demands of a man whose egocentric excesses mask the loneliness of isolation and whose lies have become so ingrained that they are indistinguishable from truth, Márquez has created a fantastical portrait of despotism that rings with an air of reality.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Autumn of the Patriarch
Open Book

The Edible Woman

By Margaret Atwood

Preface: Marian is determined to be ordinary. She lays her head gently on the shoulder of her serious fiancee and quietly awaits marriage. But she didn't count on an inner rebellion that would rock her stable routine, and her digestion. Marriage a la mode, Marian discovers, is something she literally can't stomach ... The Edible Woman is a funny, engaging novel about emotional cannibalism, men and women, and desire to be consumed.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Edible Woman
Open Book

No is Not Enough: Defeating the New Shock Politics

By Naomi Klein

Preface: Naomi Klein - award-winning journalist, bestselling author of No Logo, The Shock Doctrine and This Changes Everything, scourge of brand bullies and corporate liars - gives us the toolkit we need to survive our surreal, shocking age.

Remember when love was supposed to Trump hate? Remember when the oil companies and bankers seemed to be running scared? What the hell happened? And what can we do about it?

Naomi Klein shows us how we got here, and how we can make things better.

No Is Not Enough reveals, among other things, that the disorientation we're feeling is deliberate. That around the world, shock political tactics are being used to generate crisis after crisis, designed to force through policies that will destroy people, the environment, the economy and our security. That extremism isn't a freak event - it's a toxic cocktail of our times.

From how to trash the Trump megabrand to the art of reclaiming the populist argument, Naomi Klein shows all of us how we can break the spell and win the world we need. Don't let them get away with it. '

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: No is Not Enough: Defeating the New Shock Politics
Open Book

A Spark of Light

By Jodi Picoult

Preface: The Center for women's reproductive health offers a last chance at hope - but nobody ends up there by choice.

Its very existence is controversial, and to the demonstrators who barricade the building every day, the service it offers is no different from legalised murder.

Now life and death decisions are being made horrifyingly real: a lone protester with a gun has taken the staff, patients and visitors hostage.

Starting at the tensest moment in the negotiations for their release, A Spark of Light unravels backwards, revealing hour by urgent hour what brought each of these people - the gunman, the negotiator, the doctors, nurses and women who have come to them for treatment - to this point.

And certainties unwind as truths and secrets are peeled away, revealing the complexity of balancing the right to life with the right to choose.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: A Spark of Light
Open Book Thumbs Up

Station Eleven

By Emily St. John Mandel

Preface: DAY ONE The Georgia Flu explodes over the surface of the earth like a neutron bomb. News reports put the mortality rate at over 99%. WEEK TWO Civilization has crumbled. YEAR TWENTY A band of actors and musicians called the Travelling Symphony move through their territories performing concerts and Shakespeare to the settlements that have grown up there. Twenty years after the pandemic, life feels relatively safe. But now a new danger looms, and he threatens the hopeful world every survivor has tried to rebuild. STATION ELEVEN Moving backwards and forwards in time, from the glittering years just before the collapse to the strange and altered world that exists twenty years after, Station Eleven charts the unexpected twists of fate that connect six people: famous actor Arthur Leander; Jeevan - warned about the flu just in time; Arthur's first wife Miranda; Arthur's oldest friend Clark; Kirsten, a young actress with the Travelling Symphony; and the mysterious and self-proclaimed 'prophet'.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Station Eleven
Open Book

Tomorrow when the War Began

By John Marsden

Preface: When their country is invaded and their families are taken, eight high school teenagers band together to fight.

Seventeen-year-old Ellie Linton wants one final adventure with her friends before the school holidays are over. Packed in Ellie's parents' land rover they drive to the famously isolated rock pool Eden dubbed 'Hell' by the locals.

Returning to their home town of Wirrawee, the seven teenagers realize that something is seriously wrong. Power to the houses has been cut, pets and livestock have been left dead or dying, and most alarmingly of all, everyone's family has vanished.

When the hostile armed forces discover that the teenagers are lying low in the vicinity, Ellie and her friends must band together to escape, outwit and strike back against the mysterious enemy that has seized control of their town and imprisoned their friends and loved ones...

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Tomorrow when the War Began
Open Book

Before She Sleeps

By Bina Shah

Preface: In modern, beautiful Green City, the capital of South West Asia, gender selection, war and disease have brought the ratio of men to women to alarmingly low levels. The government uses terror and technology to control its people, and women must take multiple husbands to have children as quickly as possible.

Yet there are women who resist, women who live in an underground collective and refuse to be part of the system. Secretly protected by the highest echelons of power, they emerge only at night, to provide to the rich and elite of Green City a type of commodity that nobody can buy: intimacy without sex. As it turns out, not even the most influential men can shield them from discovery and the dangers of ruthless punishment.

This dystopian novel from one of Pakistan's most talented writers is a modern-day parable, The Handmaid's Tale about women's lives in repressive Muslim countries everywhere. It takes the patriarchal practices of female seclusion and veiling, gender selection, and control over women's bodies, amplifies and distorts them in a truly terrifying way to imagine a world of post-religious authoritarianism.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Before She Sleeps
Open Book

Read & Shared 81 Times.

I hope you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it with others.

Get In Touch

Please feel free to leave a comment to this article below.
If you run a blog and/or have posted an article which you think expands or improves on the subjects covered on this page, you can always add a trackback to it here and following moderation we'll add a link to it below.

Loading...