11 Books Similar to My Sister, the Serial Killer

11 Books Similar to My Sister, the Serial Killer

This article contains a list of books for those of us who enjoy reading about the darkest of criminals: serial killers. If you liked My Sister, the Serial Killer then you will love these books.

My Sister, the Serial Killer

By Oyinkan Braithwaite

Preface: "Femi makes three you know. Three and they label you a serial killer."

When Korede's dinner is interrupted one night by a distress call from her sister, Ayoola, she knows what's expected of her: bleach, rubber gloves, nerves of steel and a strong stomach. This'll be the third boyfriend Ayoola's dispatched in, quote, self-defence and the third mess that her lethal little sibling has left Korede to clear away. She should probably go to the police for the good of the menfolk of Nigeria, but she loves her sister and, as they say, family always comes first. Until, that is, Ayoola starts dating the fit doctor where Korede works as a nurse. Korede's long been in love with him, and isn't prepared to see him wind up with a knife in his back: but to save one would mean sacrificing the other...

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: My Sister, the Serial Killer
Open Book Thumbs Up
1

I'll Be Gone in the Dark

By Michelle McNamara

Preface: The masterful true crime account of the Golden State Killer - the serial rapist turned murderer who terrorised California for over a decade - from the late Michelle McNamara.

I'll Be Gone in the Dark offers a unique snapshot of suburban West Coast America in the 1980s, and a chilling account of the wreckage left behind by a criminal mastermind. It is also a portrait of one woman's obsession and her unflagging pursuit of the truth, three decades later, in spite of the personal cost.

Updated with material which takes in the extraordinary events that followed its initial publication, Michelle McNamara's first and last book is a contemporary classic - humane, haunting and heroic.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: I'll Be Gone in the Dark
Open Book Thumbs Up
2

We Are All the Same in the Dark

By julia heaberlin

Preface: It's been a decade since the town's sweetheart Trumanell Branson disappeared, leaving only a bloody handprint behind.

Since her disappearance, Tru's brother, Wyatt, has lived as an outcast, desperate to know what happened to his sister.

So when Wyatt finds a lost girl, he believes she is a sign.

But for new cop, Odette Tucker, this girl's appearance reopens old wounds.

Determined to solve both cases, Odette fights to save a lost girl in the present and in doing so digs up a shocking truth about that fateful night in the past . . .

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: We Are All the Same in the Dark
Open Book Thumbs Up
3

Paper Ghosts

By julia heaberlin

Preface: Paper Ghosts is a compelling read about a young girl’s struggle to be brave in the wake of her older sisters being missing and presumed dead.

The unnamed protagonist believes her sister was killed by Carl Feldman a fine art photographer and suspected serial killer living out his days in a halfway house. Does he really have early onset dementia and no memory of the supposed killings he was once accused of or is he pretending? Was he wrongly accused of those murders or is she putting her life in danger by driving around remote Texas with a serial killer?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Paper Ghosts
Open Book Thumbs Up
4

Tell Me Your Secrets

By Dorothy Koomson

Preface: Pieta has a secret.

Ten years ago, Pieta was kidnapped by a man calling himself The Blindfolder who said he wouldn't kill her if she kept her eyes closed for 48 hours. She never told anyone what happened to her, vowing to move on with her life. But when The Blindfolder starts hunting down his past victims, Pieta realises she may finally be forced to tell her deepest secret to stay alive . . .

Jody has a secret.

Fifteen years ago, policewoman Jody made a terrible mistake that resulted in a serial killer known as The Blindfolder escaping justice. When Jody discovers journalist Pieta survived an attack by him, she realises she may finally have found a way to catch him. But that would mean endangering at least two innocent people . . .

They kept quiet to protect themselves.

Will telling all save or sacrifice each other?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Tell Me Your Secrets
Open Book Thumbs Up
5

Rules for Perfect Murders

By Peter Swanson

Preface: A series of unsolved murders with one thing in common: each of the deaths bears an eerie resemblance to the crimes depicted in classic mystery novels.

The deaths lead FBI Agent Gwen Mulvey to mystery bookshop Old Devils. Owner Malcolm Kershaw had once posted online an article titled 'My Eight Favourite Murders,' and there seems to be a deadly link between the deaths and his list - which includes Agatha Christie's The ABC Murders, Patricia Highsmith's Strangers on a Train and Donna Tartt's The Secret History.

Can the killer be stopped before all eight of these perfect murders have been re-enacted?

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Rules for Perfect Murders
Open Book Thumbs Up
6

We Need to Talk About Kevin

By Lionel Shriver

Preface: Eva never really wanted to be a mother; certainly not the mother of the unlovable boy who murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker and a teacher who tried to befriend him. Now, two years later, it is time for her to come to terms with marriage, career, family, parenthood and Kevin's horrific rampage in a series of startlingly direct correspondences with her absent husband, Franklyn. Uneasy with the sacrifices and social demotion of motherhood from the start, Eva fears that her alarming dislike for her own son may be responsible for driving him so nihilistically off the rails.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: We Need to Talk About Kevin
Open Book
7

Good Me, Bad Me

By Ali Land

Preface: Annie's mother is a serial killer. The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police. But out of sight is not out of mind. As her mother's trial looms, the secrets of her past won't let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name - Milly. A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be. But Milly's mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water. Good me, bad me. She is, after all, her mother's daughter...

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Good Me, Bad Me
Open Book Thumbs Up
8

A Nearly Normal Family

By M. T. Edvardsson

Preface: When Stella is accused of murder her family is left reeling, or are they?

Her Father believes she has been framed and wants to protect her at any cost.

Her Mother believes there is something she is hiding.

Stella knows neither of them are aware what she is capable of.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: A Nearly Normal Family
Open Book Thumbs Up
9

Female Serial Killers: How and Why Women Become Monsters

By Peter Vronsky

Preface: In this fascinating book, Peter Vronsky exposes and investigates the phenomenon of women who kill--and the political, economic, social and sexual implications buried with each victim.

How many of us are even remotely prepared to imagine our mothers, daughters, sisters or grandmothers as fiendish killers? For centuries we have been conditioned to think of serial murderers and psychopathic predators as men--with women registering low on our paranoia radar. Perhaps that's why so many trusting husbands, lovers, family friends, and children have fallen prey to "the female monster."

From history's earliest recorded cases of homicidal females to Irma Grese, the Nazi Beast of Belsen, from Britain's notorious child-slayer Myra Hindley to 'Honeymoon Killer' Martha Beck to the sensational cult of Aileen Wournos--the first female serial killer-as-celebrity--to cult killers, homicidal missionaries, and our pop-culture fascination with the sexy femme fatale, Vronsky not only challenges our ordinary standards of good and evil but also defies our basic accepted perceptions of gender role and identity.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: Female Serial Killers: How and Why Women Become Monsters
Open Book
10

In Cold Blood

By Truman Capote

Preface: Controversial and compelling, In Cold Blood reconstructs the murder in 1959 of a Kansas farmer, his wife and both their children. Truman Capote's comprehensive study of the killings and subsequent investigation explores the circumstances surrounding this terrible crime and the effect it had on those involved. At the centre of his study are the amoral young killers Perry Smith and Dick Hickcock, who, vividly drawn by Capote, are shown to be reprehensible yet entirely and frighteningly human.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: In Cold Blood
Open Book
11

The Bone Collector

By Jeffrey Deaver

Preface: New York City has been thrown into chaos by the assaults of the Bone Collector, a serial kidnapper and killer who gives the police a chance to save his victims from death by leaving obscure clues. Baffled, the cops turn to the one man with a chance of solving them - Lincoln Rhyme.

Left paralysed by a debilitating accident, ex NYPD cop Rhyme has to dig deep into the only world he has left - his astonishing mind - to have any hope of solving the case. With the help of a young police officer, Amelia Sachs, he starts to close in on the killer. But as he edges closer to the truth, the Bone Collector is closing in on Lincoln Rhyme himself.

PintrestTweet ThisFacebook
Book: The Bone Collector
Open Book

Read & Shared 791 Times.

I hope you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it with others.

Get In Touch

Please feel free to leave a comment to this article below.
If you run a blog and/or have posted an article which you think expands or improves on the subjects covered on this page, you can always add a trackback to it here and following moderation we'll add a link to it below.

Loading...