Books: historical

 
Newly Added

Spitting Gold

By

Paris, 1866. When Baroness Sylvie Devereux receives a house call from Charlotte Mothe, the sister she disowned, she fears her shady past as a spirit medium has caught up with her. But with their...

Spitting Gold

Daughters of Warsaw

By

In a world torn apart by war, she’ll risk her life to save them.

1942, Warsaw

Young Zofia finds herself leading a double life when she is enlisted to help the fearless Irena Sendler save...

Daughters of Warsaw

The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou

By

A compelling historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London – that's inspired by a true story – The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou is perfect for fans of Sara Collins, Eve...

The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou

The Bookbinder of Jericho

By

'Your job is to bind the books, not read them.'

When the men of Oxford University Press leave for the Western Front, Peggy, her twin sister Maude and their friends in the bookbindery must...

The Bookbinder of Jericho

The Figurine

By

In her irresistible new novel, Sunday Times No 1 bestselling author Victoria Hislop shines a light on the questionable acquisition of cultural treasures and the price people - and countries - will pay...

The Figurine

The Stargazers

By

It's the 1970s, and Sarah has spent a lifetime trying to bury memories of her childhood: the constant fear, the horror of her school days, and Fane, the vast, crumbling house that was the sole...

The Stargazers

The Temple of Fortuna EXTRACT ONLY

By

Amara's journey has taken her far; from a slave in Pompeii's wolf den to a high-powered courtesan in Rome... though her story is not over yet.

While Amara plays for power in...

The Temple of Fortuna EXTRACT ONLY

The Black Crescent

By

Hamou Badi is born in a mountain village with the magical signs of the zouhry on his hands. In Morocco, the zouhry is a figure of legend, a child of both humans and djinns, capable of finding all...

The Black Crescent

The Square of Sevens

By

‘My father had spelt it out to me. Choice was a luxury I couldn’t afford. This is your story, Red. You must tell it well . . .’

A girl known only as Red, the daughter of a Cornish...

The Square of Sevens

City of Stolen Magic

By

India, 1855. The British rule, and all across the country, Indian magic is being stamped out.

More terrifying still, people born with magic are being snatched from their homes. Rumour is that they...

City of Stolen Magic

The House With The Golden Door

By

Amara has escaped her life as a slave in Pompeii's most notorious brothel. She now has a house, fine clothes, servants – but all of these are gifts from her patron, hers for as long as she...

The House With The Golden Door

The Wolf Den

By

Amara was once a beloved daughter, until her father's death plunged her family into penury. Now she is a slave in Pompeii's infamous brothel, owned by a man she despises. Sharp, clever and...

The Wolf Den

Weyward

By

KATE, 2019

Kate flees London – abandoning everything – for Cumbria and Weyward Cottage, inherited from her great-aunt. There, a secret lurks in the bones of the house, hidden ever since the...

Weyward

Now She Is Witch

By

She dug her mother's grave in the poison garden so it would stay hidden...

From the snowy winter woods to the bright midnight sun; from lost and powerless to finding your path, Now She is...

Now She Is Witch

She Who Became the Sun

By

In a famine-stricken village on a dusty plain, a seer shows two children their fates. For a family’s eighth-born son, there’s greatness. For the second daughter, nothing.

In 1345, China lies...

She Who Became the Sun

The Witch and the Tsar

By

Yaga lives deep in the Russian forest, tending to any that call upon her for her healing potions and vast wisdom.

She has been alone for centuries, with only her beloved animals for company. But,...

The Witch and the Tsar

The Forgotten Bookshop In Paris

By

From an exciting new voice in WWII historical fiction comes a tale of love, loss and a betrayal that echoes through generations…

Paris, 1940: War is closing in on the city of love. With his wife...

The Forgotten Bookshop In Paris

The Forgotten Bookshop In Paris

By

From an exciting new voice in WWII historical fiction comes a tale of love, loss and a betrayal that echoes through generations…

Paris, 1940: War is closing in on the city of love. With his wife...

The Forgotten Bookshop In Paris

The Mapmaker's Daughter

By

Could a rediscovered map…

Present day: When thirty-six-year-old Robyn Willoughby discovers an exquisite yet blood-stained Tudor map in her father’s antique map shop, desperate for a distraction...

The Mapmaker's Daughter

The Forest of Vanishing Stars

By

Yona has used her knowledge of the wilderness to help hundreds of Jews escape the Nazis. But what happens when a secret from her past emerges and threatens everything?

After being stolen from her...

The Forest of Vanishing Stars
 
Partners
 
Browse Themes
 
Popular Books

Pony

By R. J. Palacio
 
Get Connected
 
Random Books

You

By Caroline Kepnes